We believe in:

  • Excellence, demonstrated by fresh thinking, best practices, entrepreneurial initiatives, bold solutions to new opportunities and fiscal responsibility.
  • Collaboration and we work together as a learning community to serve our students and partners. 
  • Fairness, modelled by honest and ethical dealings in our relationships with students, employees and partners.

Board of Governors

SAIT became a board-governed institute on April 1, 1982, and operates under the authority of the Post-Secondary Learning Act/Statutes of Alberta 2003 Chapter P-19.5 (effective as of March 18, 2004.)

The institute delivers educational programs to provide a skilled, productive workforce for the economic development of Alberta and Canada. The SAIT Board of Governors includes:

  • 10 public members
  • two students
  • two faculty
  • one non-academic staff member
  • SAIT's President and CEO

The Board is the permanent governing body of SAIT and makes and administers policy for the institute. The Board sets the mission for the institute in its pursuit of educational excellence, is accountable and responsible for the educational and financial governance of SAIT, and is responsive to the needs of the communities SAIT serves.

Meet SAIT's Board of Governors

SAIT Executive

SAIT is under the administration of the following executive management team:

Dr. David Ross, SAIT President and CEO

Dr. David Ross

16th President and CEO

Under Dr. Ross' leadership, SAIT has become Alberta's third-largest post-secondary institution. SAIT is known internationally for its action-based applied education, solution-focused research and enterprising collaborations with people and partners from around the globe.

Read more about Dr. Ross

Emily Bourassa, CFO and Vice President, Corporate Services

Emily Bourassa

Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Corporate Services

With nearly two decades of leadership and fiscal acumen, Emily Bourassa brings her years of finance and operations experience to SAIT's executive management team.

Read more about Emily

Dr. Janet Welch, Vice President, Academic (interim)

Dr. Janet Welch

Vice President, Academic

Janet builds on our commitment to ensure SAIT's programs continue to be of high quality, meet the diverse needs of learners and industry and are aligned with SAIT's vision of being a global leader in applied education.

Read more about Dr. Welch

Heather Magotiaux, Vice President, External Relations

Heather Magotiaux

Vice President, External Relations

With 20 years of experience in executive leadership, Heather's talents in strategic communications, resource development and reputation management have made her an award-winning strategist and results-oriented leader.

Read more about Heather


Marcia Buchholz

Vice President, People and Culture

With experience in both the private and public sectors, Marcia brings 12 years of experience as head of human resources in a post-secondary environment to SAIT's executive management team.

Read more about Marcia

Mark Butler, Vice President, Corporate Development, Applied Research and International

Mark Butler

Vice President, Corporate Development, Applied Research and International

With a background in international marketing, business development and strategic partnerships, Mark brings more than 20 years of leadership experience from the advanced education sector to SAIT.

Read more about Mark

Contact the Board

Please direct all correspondence to:

Tracy Ruptash, Office of the Board of Governors

MA327C, Heritage Hall, SAIT Main Campus

403.284.8940 (fax)
a view of the moutains and stream in between

Oki, Âba wathtech, Danit'ada, Tawnshi, Hello.

SAIT is located on the traditional territories of the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot) and the people of Treaty 7 which includes the Siksika, the Piikani, the Kainai, the Tsuut’ina and the Îyârhe Nakoda of Bearspaw, Chiniki and Goodstoney.

We are situated in an area the Blackfoot tribes traditionally called Moh’kinsstis, where the Bow River meets the Elbow River. We now call it the city of Calgary, which is also home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.