0 Recently Viewed Full-Time Program(s) Download Your Career and Program Guide

Home Student Life Convocation Honorary Degree Recipients

Honorary Degree Recipients

The awarding of an honorary degree is a recognition by SAIT of distinguished achievement in scholarship, the creative arts or public service provincially, nationally or internationally. Our honorary degree recipients proudly take the opportunity to speak to our graduates about their own experiences at our bi-annual convocation ceremonies.

As part of its ongoing quest to recognize and support excellence, SAIT's Board of Governors seeks nominations for recipients of its honorary bachelor degrees. SAIT awards the honorary degree(s) to laud distinguished achievement in scholarship, the creative arts or public service, on the provincial, national or international stage. Nominations are currently closed.

Honorary degrees will be presented at SAIT's Convocation ceremonies scheduled for June 12 - 14, 2018 and October 2018.

Fall 2017 Honorary Degree Recipient

Mogens Smed, Honorary Degree Recipient

Mogens Smed, Honorary Degree Recipient
October 17, 2017

As a business leader with an unwavering dedication to sustainability, Mogens Smed has built his career on finding ways to deliver quality solutions more effectively. Mogens has over 40 years of experience in the interior construction industry. His work includes launching and growing SMED International into a publicly traded, modular interior construction company with over $300 million in annual revenue and his role as CEO of Evans Consoles, a private company providing command-control infrastructure solutions.

Recognizing an opportunity to improve the way interiors are built, he co-founded DIRTT in 2005 as a groundbreaking, technology-enabled solution for the fragmented construction industry. DIRTT combines proprietary 3D design and manufacturing software with integrated manufacturing of interior construction solutions for clients globally.

Since DIRTT’s inception, Mogens has instilled a sense of leadership and empowerment within his teams. He continuously pushes to see DIRTT’s Build better™ motto come to life in every aspect of the business. Mogens is a passionate advocate of the entrepreneurial spirit DIRTT is built on and is considered the leading voice of prefabricated interior construction in North America.


Spring 2017 Honorary Degree Recipients

SAIT Honorary Degree Recipient Clayton Riddell

Clayton Riddell, Honorary Degree Recipient
June 13, 2017

Clayton is executive chairman of Paramount Resources Ltd. He is also executive chairman of the board of Perpetual Energy Inc. and chairman of the board of Trilogy Energy Corp. He has received the J.C. Sproule Memorial Plaque from the Canadian Institute of Mining, the Stanley Slipper Gold Medal from the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists, an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of Manitoba, an Honorary Doctorate of Law from Carleton University and an Outstanding Explorer Award from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. In 2006, Clayton was inducted into the Calgary Business Hall of Fame and, in 2008, he became an Officer of the Order of Canada. In 2017, he was appointed a Companion of the Order of the Canadian Business Hall of Fame.

SAIT Honorary Degree Recipient Robert Dean Brawn

Robert Dean Brawn, Honorary Degree Recipient
June 14, 2017

An alumnus of SAIT's Cinema, Television, Stage and Radio program ('85) and the director of the Brawn Family Foundation, Dean Brawn is a proud donor and supporter of SAIT. Dean's career has spanned more than 30 years in radio, marketing and corporate communications, and as an entrepreneurial business owner. After working in corporate communications, Dean became an entrepreneur. He was the managing partner/director and part owner of a national paint recycling company and owner of a sign and graphics business. He has also worked and volunteered in politics and has held roles on boards such as the Recycling Council of Alberta, Alberta Chapter of the Canadian Green Building Council, Senate at the University of Calgary, UofC Alumni Association, City of Calgary and numerous other organizations.

SAIT Honorary Degree Recipient Dr. Greg Powell

Dr. Gregory Powell, O.C., MD, FRCPC, Honorary Degree Recipient
June 14, 2017

Dr. Powell is an internationally recognized leader in emergency and air medical transport, education and research. He is a Professor Emeritus, Emergency and Family Medicine at the University of Calgary, and is a founder of STARS and the STARS Foundation. In 2005, he was named one of Alberta's Physicians of the Century, and in 2006 he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada. Dr. Powell has also been named Calgary Business Man of the Year, Consumer Choice Awards and has received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. Recently, the new heliport at the Foothills Medical Centre was named in his honour.

SAIT Honorary Degree Recipient Margaret E. Southern

Margaret E. Southern, Honorary Degree Recipient
June 15, 2017

Margaret, along with her husband Ronald, founded the Spruce Meadows Equestrian Centre. She has received Canada's highest award — Companion of the Order of Canada, as well as the Alberta Order of Excellence and Honorary Doctors of Laws from the University of Lethbridge and University of Calgary. In 1990, Margaret was bestowed the honour of Lieutenant of the Victorian Order by Queen Elizabeth II. By Order of Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands, she has also received Holland's highest award, The Order of Orange — Nassau. In 2006, Margaret, along with her husband Ronald, was inducted into Canada's Sports Hall of Fame.


Start typing to search SAIT.ca
Refine Results

Search results

Got feedback on SAIT's new search?

We launched our new search tool on March 21. We'd love to hear your thoughts.

Leave Feedback