0 Recently Viewed Full-Time Program(s) Download Your Career and Program Guide

Home Donors SAIT President's Awards

SAIT President's Awards

Design for 2020 SAIT President's Awards

The SAIT President's Awards recognize and celebrate students, student groups and industry partners who are inspirational, passionate and innovative in their efforts to make a difference in our communities and here at SAIT. 

Recipients of the annual President's Awards are recognized in the following categories:

  • President's Medal (graduating SAIT students only)
  • President's Student Leadership Award (SAIT student clubs and groups)
  • President's Partnership Award (businesses, corporations, foundations, associations)
President's Medal

On the occasion of SAIT's Centennial, President Dr. David Ross inaugurated the President's Medal to celebrate outstanding student achievement.  Recipients of the President's Medal will have made significant contributions to campus life, demonstrated leadership with industry and achieved excellence in their field of study.

Submissions for this award could include examples of the following:

  • Collaboration and connection with industry
  • Projects to improve campus life for students
  • Projects, activities or volunteer efforts that strengthen SAIT's reputation in the community

This award is open only to graduating students with a GPA greater than 3.0.

Nominations for President's Medal are currently closed.

President's Student Leadership Award

SAIT is made up of shapers, makers and originals. You can hear it in our hallways, see it in our classrooms and even taste it at our Marketplace. Our students graduate being "career ready" — we expect a lot of them and covet those who help their classmates excel. The President's Student Leadership Group/Club Award recognizes a student group who has demonstrated innovation and initiative in creating opportunities/advancements for SAIT, fellow students, industry and the community.  Submissions for this award could include examples of the following:

  • Meaningful collaboration and/or connection with industry
  • Projects to improve campus life for students
  • Projects, activities or volunteer efforts that strengthen SAIT's reputation in the community

Nominations for the President's Student Leadership Award are currently closed.

President's Partnership Award

SAIT's future is brimming with opportunity and promise. Our students are poised to be the next generation of innovators who will push the boundaries of conventional wisdom. SAIT's strategic partners are essential to making that happen. The President's Partnership Award recognizes businesses, corporations, foundations or associations that have shown long-term commitment to SAIT, its vision and to the Calgary community.

Submissions for this award should include examples of the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated strategic alliance with SAIT resulting in initiatives that promote the advancement of applied education, demonstrate innovation and/or support student success
  • Exemplary leadership and achievements in business and the community

Nominations for the President's Partnership Award are currently closed.


2020 President's Awards

2020 President's Medal

This year, two SAIT students have been chosen to receive the President's Medal — Ryan Morstad and Yatendra Solanki — and were chosen for their dedication to improving campus life and strengthening SAIT's reputation in the community. 

Ryan Morstad is a fourth-year  Business Administration  student with a passion for pushing boundaries. Since 2016, Morstad has made his mark at SAIT, taking on many roles including President and co-founder of the Calgary Surf Club (SAIT), and serving as a member of Academic Council, Chair of the SAIT Students' Association (Saitsa) Board of Directors and, most recently, as Saitsa President. Majoring in Financial Services in the School of Business, Morstad exemplifies what it means to be a stellar student and community leader.

Power Engineering student Yatendra Solanki has the ability to inspire those around him through his leadership and humble approach. Solanki brings his passion for creating an inclusive experience for international students at SAIT by volunteering as President of the South Asian Students’ Society of SAIT, serving on the Saitsa Board of Directors, and as a mentor with the SAIT Peer Mentorship program. Solanki is the epitome of a truly engaged student – both in and outside of the classroom.

Past recipients of the President's Medal

  • 2019— Sara Land
  • 2018 — Akhil Sharma
  • 2017— Hamzah Al Hakime
  • 2017 — Yekaterina (Kat) Giyasova

President's Student Leadership Award

The President’s Student Leadership Award recognizes a student group that has demonstrated innovation and initiative in creating opportunities and advancements for SAIT, their fellow students, industry and the community.

This year, the award went to SAIT’s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa academic honour society, Beta Sigma Tau (BST). The society has been working tirelessly to help students achieve their full potential through development, scholarships and volunteer opportunities. In 2018, BST achieved five-star chapter status and in 2019 was recognized with the Highest Student Engagement Award at the Phi Theta Kappa National Conference. BST demonstrates thoughtfulness and innovation through its volunteerism and community efforts.

Past recipients of the President's Student Leadership Award
  • 2019—Enactus
  • 2018—2018 SAIT Great Northern Concrete Toboggan Team
  • 2018—SAIT Accounting Society
  • 2017—Instrumentation Club
  • 2016—Lorie Tran
  • 2016—Student Petroleum Society
  • 2015—Architectural Technologies Student Association
  • 2015—Amanda Siebert
  • 2014—SAITSA
  • 2014—Enactus

President's Partnership Award

Due to the cancellation of all events surrounding COVID-19, the President's Partnership Award was not awarded this year. 

Past recipients of the President's Partnership Award
  • 2019 — Brookfield Residential
  • 2018 — Brawn Family Foundation
  • 2017 — Royal Bank of Canada
  • 2016 — CPA Alberta
  • 2016 — Cisco Systems
  • 2015 — Xerox Canada
  • 2015 — Avalon Master Builder
  • 2014 — Cenovus Energy
  • 2011 — Shell
  • 2010 — Founding Builders
  • 2008 — TransCanada Corp.
  • 2007 — Enerplus
  • 2006 — Jayman MasterBUILT
  • 2005 — Nexen Inc.
  • 2004 — Encana Corporation


View the President's Awards Process for more information or contact Kerrie.Marin@sait.ca.

Enter Your Search Term Here
Start typing to search SAIT.ca
Refine Results

Search results