Watch the following video to better understand how to appropriately and respectfully discuss Indigenous people in Canada.

Source: R.F Laliberte, Priscilla Settee, Rob Innes, et al., Expressions in Canadian Native Studies, (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, University of Saskatchewan Extension Press, 2000), 560.

Understanding common terminology

Aboriginal: Refers to the various Indian tribes indigenous to the Americas before contact with Europeans, or any persons descended from those first inhabitants. Indians, Inuit and Métis are identified as Aboriginal Peoples of Canada in the Constitution Act of 1982, Sec. 35(2).

First Nations: Refers to a politically autonomous band under The Indian Act, a nation of First Peoples.

Indian: Used to describe those who are defined as Indians within the meaning of the Indian Act.

Indigenous: Refers to all inhabitants indigenous to North America before contact with Euro-Canadians, and their descendants. Indigenous Peoples is a collective noun for First Nations, Inuit and Métis.

Inuit: A culturally distinct Indigenous people in northern Canada.

Métis: People born of or descended from both European and Indian parents. The Métis National Council defines Métis as “a person who self-identifies as Métis, is distinct from other Aboriginal Peoples, is of historic Métis Nations ancestry and who is accepted by the Métis Nation.”

Natoysopoyiis Resource Centre

To learn more and connect with the Indigenous community at SAIT, visit the Natoysopoyiis Resource Centre.

a view of the moutains and stream in between

Oki, Âba wathtech, Danit'ada, Tawnshi, Hello.

SAIT is located on the traditional territories of the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot) and the people of Treaty 7 which includes the Siksika, the Piikani, the Kainai, the Tsuut’ina and the Îyârhe Nakoda of Bearspaw, Chiniki and Goodstoney.

We are situated in an area the Blackfoot tribes traditionally called Moh’kinsstis, where the Bow River meets the Elbow River. We now call it the city of Calgary, which is also home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.